Whole Wheat Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

I have to admit, I don’t really cook out of cookbooks, but I love to buy them. I sit in Barnes and Noble and scour through TONS of cookbooks until I find one that I vow I’m going to cook something out of and then never do. It’s really quite a shame, especially because I used to get a cookbook and mark the pages of everything I was going to make! I even had a stack of Food Network Magazines that I ripped pages out of and made a binder filled with recipes I was going to try. I should probably open them more often, especially after this recipe. However, I’m always skeptical to try cookbook recipes because I feel like they will never turn out like they are intended to.

When I moved from Colorado to Virginia, my best friends mom (Hi Brannalee, Hi Sue) gave me a Colorado cookbook with THE MOST STUNNING pictures of food EVER! It’s called “Colorado Classique” and they make a new one every year — I can’t remember which edition I got, I’ll have to get back to you on that one. Either way, the other night I was in the mood to bake! So I randomly pulled this cookbook off the shelf, turned immediately to the sweets section and saw these cookies! Why I pulled that particular book? I have no idea, but I’m so glad I did. The name (although a mouthful) drew me in because of the WHOLE WHEAT aspect of it. Now, I’m no super heath nut, but every smart decision you make affects you more than you know <– I read that somewhere and I like it! I also love peanut butter and chocolate so these cookies were almost too good to be true.

Ingredients:

1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
1 egg
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup sugar
1 tspn vanilla extract
1/2 cup peanut butter
3/4 tspn baking soda
1/4 tspn salt
1 1/4 cup whole wheat flour
3/4 chocolate chips
1/2 cup sugar for rolling

Preheat oven to 400. Beat butter and egg in a bowl then add brown sugar, 1/2 cup sugar, vanilla, and peanut butter and mix until all ingredients are mixed. Mix in baking soda and salt. Slowly add flour on low speed and mix until dough is just moist. Mix chocolate chips in with spoon. Form dough into 1 inch balls and roll in sugar. Place on baking sheet and bake for 8-10 minutes.

(Haha – you can see my finger prints from when I pressed them down)

These pictures suck– but they taste AMAZING!

IMG_3010 IMG_3012 IMG_3013

Leave a Reply

