Mexican Hot Chocolate Snickerdoodles

Guys, I have a sad story for you.

On Sundays, my boyfriend and I have decided that we are going to cook together each choosing either the main course or dessert. Last week, I chose a steak dinner and he chose oatmeal cookie ice cream sandwiches for dessert. Yesterday, he chose chicken cordon bleu (amazing), and I chose a cinnamon roll cake that I found on pinterest— of course.Β  I was taking pictures of the meal because it was GEORGOUS and the cinnamon roll cake was nothing less than perfect. (sad part ahead) So today, I was going to share with you all the cinnamon roll cake in all its glory and MY PHONE HAD DELETED ALL OF THE PICTURES! I know I took them because I saw them being taken and then when I went to look THEY WERE ALL GONE! Apparently this is an iPhone issue that a lot of people are having (if anyone knows how to fix it please let me know!). *sigh* I guess we’ll just have to make cinnamon roll cake again— darn πŸ˜‰

Nonetheless, I found a picture of some cookies that I made a couple weeks ago and meant to post, but haven’t yet. So lucky you! That’s what you get today!

When I found this Mexican Hot Chocolate Snickerdoodle recipe, I was skeptical at first. Why? Because who puts cayenne pepper in cookies!??!!? ApparentlyΒ a lot of people do. So I tried this crazy cookie recipe and it’s DELICIOUS! Now definitely one of my favorite go to recipes when I don’t have eggs and/or want someone chocolaty and don’t have chocolate. If you’re looking for a unique cookie recipe than this is DEFINITELY it! Try it out… let me know what you think!

Mexican Hot Chocolate Snickerdoodles

Ingredients:

1 2/3 cups flour
1/2 cup cocoa powder
1 tspn baking soda
1/2 tspn cinnamon
1/4 to 1/2 tspn cayenne pepper (depending on spice liking)
1/4 tspn salt
1/2 cup canola oil
1 cup sugar
1/4 cup maple syrup
3 tbspn milk
2 tspn vanilla

If you want to roll the cookies in sugar before baking (sometimes I don’t), you will also need 1/3 cup extra sugar and 1 tspn extra of cinnamon mixed together

1. Pre-heat oven to 350
2. Whisk together the flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, cinnamon, cayenne, and salt
3. In a separate bowl, whisk oil, sugar, syrup, milk, and vanilla
4. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry and mix until combined
5. roll dough in a ball and flatten into a 2 inch disc place on cookie sheet and bake for 9-12 min (they will spread and crackle)
If rolling in sugar mixture:
6. Before baking, dipΒ one side of cookie disc into cinnamon sugar mixture. Place on cookie sheet sugar side up.

The more I think about this recipe, the weirder it is to me. At least they taste delicious!

IMG_2886 IMG_2887 IMG_2888

Β 

Leave a Reply

