Melty Mess

I’ve been pretty lazy all day. I went to the gym but was too lazy to do anything substantial, organized my room, took a nap, then watched HGTV for about 3 hours. In the spirit of being lazy, I was debating whether to order pizza or Thai food for a good 30 minutes until I told myself to stop being a lazy POS and make some food.

Last night I made a MASSIVE amount my chicken chipotle Kabobs (recipe on blog) because I thought we were gonna have 5 people here for dinner — it was me and my parents. So needless to say, there are wayyyy too many leftovers from last nights “feast”. I remember seeing something similar to a Mexican packet on Pinterest and thought I would give something like it a shot.

Surprisingly, I had all the ingredients either cooked, or easily accessible to make this lovely little foil mess.

Here’s what I did:

Make a piece of tin foil into a somewhat bowl shape. Layer or mix all of the following:

1/2 cup cooked sweet potato
1/4 cup black beans (straight from can)
4oz cooked shredded/chopped chicken
1/2 red and green bell pepper lightly sautΓ©ed depending on crunch desire
1 slice sharp cheddar cheese

Broil in the oven for about 5 min.
Then add:
2 slices tomato
1/2 avocado sliced
Cilantro!

If some of the ingredients are leftovers, you’ll have to quickly heat them up in the microwave as the broil feature in the oven won’t exactly make a piping hot meal.

This was super easy, super tasty, and this whole thing was about 400 calories! <—- not to mention protein packed.

All in all, I'm glad I didn't order out. There is something satisfying about making smart choices not only for your body, but also for your wallet ;). With all the savings, I'll probably get a pizza next week

20140607-202305-73385935.jpg

20140607-202306-73386399.jpg

Edit:: More melty mess from tonight!! Instead of avocado and chicken, I added shrimp and spinach! So darn tasty.

20140609-200628-72388661.jpg

Leave a Reply

