Oatmeal Protein Pancakes

Given the choice, I would definitely chose a sweet treat for breakfast than a savory option. However, with the rather large selection of pastry options and infinite possibilities for bad things to put on those pastries, it seems somewhat impossible to have a sweet breakfast and still feel good about yourself. I’ve taken to eating a lot of omelets to get a boost of protein in the morning, but sometimes you just need some sugar.

I used to be OBSESSED with these pancakes in college because they are quick, easy, and delicious. (Seriously obsessed though. My room mate was shocked that I actually wanted to eat them everyday). I would wake up at 6 am, go to the gym, then come home and make myself these pancakes. I love these pancakes because they have a hidden (and tasteless) ingredient which gives them as much protein as a 4 egg omelet! Don’t cringe, but it’s cottage cheese. If you don’t like cottage cheese, I PROMISE that you CANNOT taste it AT ALL! It simply acts somewhat like an applesauce or yogurt. It adds to the fluffy pancake consistency without changing the flavor.

If you don’t douse these pancakes in syrup like I do, then they turn out to be about 300 calories and about 22 grams of protein! Ummm… YES PLEASE! I’m trying to eat as much “whole food” as I can, so while I can easily opt for a protein shake for a quick protein punch, these definitely taste better and keep me fuller!

Give these a try. I promise that they are kid friendly as well :).

yes

Oatmeal Protein Pancakes

Ingredients:

1/2 cup oats (any kind)
1/4 cup fat free cottage cheese
1 whole egg & 1 egg white
Dash of cinnamon and vanilla
1 tablespoon milk (any kind)

Serves 1 person.

1. Add all ingredients into a blender/food processor and blend until smooth
2. Spray your pan with some cooking spray (you can also use butter but that will add calories and fat).
3. On medium heat, pour batter into preferred sized pancakes. Cook until  you see bubbles forming on the top, then flip. It takes about 2 minutes on each side. ENJOY!

Full Macros: 300 calories, 11 g fat, 30 g carbs, 22 g protein, 4 g fiber, 4 g sugar

yes2

 

IMG_0237

 

 

Leave a Reply

