Spicy Maple Almond Bites

I know it’s been aboutΒ 2 months since my last post, so I figured I’d make it up by having my first post now be about something sweet– candy! I found this recipe on my favorite website (foodgawker) and decided to try it, but I deviated a little from the recipe. Either way, what came out were these yummy, spicy, sweet, salty nut candies that are super addicting!!! In fact, I think I’m going to make them again tomorrow….

Spicy Nut Candies

Ingredients:

1 cup of almonds
1 cup roasted unsalted peanuts
1 tablespoon maple syrup (plus more)
1/4 teaspoon cayenne
dash of cinnamon

preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Combine the almonds and peanuts in a food processor and pulse a couple of times. You still want the nuts to have some crunch to them so 3-5 times would be enough. Transfer to a bowl and mix in the syrup, cayenne, and cinnamon. Use a silicone baking sheet and drop a little bit of the mixture in each cup. Press it so it’s compact. then drizzle a teaspoon (depending on the size of the cup) over top the nuts… (enough to JUST cover them).

Here’s where it gets tricky. The original recipe said to bake them for 10 minutes, but when I did that, I found that they did not stick together, but instead crumbled. So, I baked my candies for about 20-25 minutes until the maple syrup was bubbling and it almost looks like it’s burning. This will caramelize the sugar and help the candies to stick together. Place in the fridge/freezer for a couple of minutes to cool and then pop them out and enjoy!

You can find the originally recipe here: http://quicheaweek.wordpress.com/2013/08/28/sweet-spicy-nutty-crack-bites/

Definitely try these out though! No added sugar, vegan, and good for a little sweet snack!

IMG_1906 IMG_1907 IMG_1908

 

Leave a Reply

