Vegetarian Chili

I’m on dinner duty this week (as always) and was trying to think of quick and easy dinner ideas that also had a ton of flavor! For some reason last night I was craving chili so today that’s what I made.

I thought back to a taco soup recipe that my friends mom showed me and it had a secret ingredient … BAKED BEANS! Genius. Since the baked beans have their own “sauce” with them, if you will, it adds a depth of flavor– both sweet and creamy. Then with a bunch of seasonings, this chili recipe is awesome. I’ve never done chili like I did tonight, but I just started added spices and it turned out pretty well. It’s also really quick and easy — took me about 10 minutes to prep, then everything just goes into the pot and simmers until it’s ready to serve! I’ll definitely be making this again.

Veggie Chili

Ingredients:

1 small onion- chopped
1 small green pepper- chopped
2 cloves of garlic – minced
1 29oz can of kidney beans
1 16oz can pinto beans
1 16oz can vegetarian baked beans
1 16oz can diced tomatoes
2 cups vegetable broth (or less)
2 tablespoons chili powder
1/2 teaspoon paprika
1/2 teaspoon cumin
1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes
1/4 teaspoon onion powder
salt and pepper to taste

(You might need to adjust the spices based on taste. I added a little bit more in the process because I love a strong flavor)

Start by sauteing the onion and green pepper in EVOO until translucent. Add the garlic and mix for about another 2 minutes. Add all of the spices and saute for another 2 minutes. Add about 1/2 a cup of the vegetable broth at this point to pick up all the bits and pieces off the bottom of the pan, then gradually add the rest of the broth (or as much as you feel is needed). Finally, add the beans and tomatoes. Mix well and then let simmer for about 20 minutes. Serve with rice, cheese, and sour cream if you like!

The awesome thing about chili is that you can also add a bunch of extra veggies to it and no one would ever know! Try it with zucchini or even red bell pepper as well.

IMG_1042

IMG_1043

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

