Spinach and Black Bean Enchiladas

I WISH WISH WISH I could take credit for this recipe but unfortunately I cannot. I came across this recipe on Pinterest and despite multiple people telling me that “nothing on pinterest ever turns out good”, I decided to try this one because it looked fool proof! I’m SOOOO glad that I did! I never really understood the hype behind enchiladas but now I’m definitely a fan.

Not only is this enchilada recipe vegetarian, but it’s SUPER simple. I’ve made it TWICE in the past week because it’s so good and also comes together really quick! The sauce is my favorite — I lick my plate clean every time. The second time I made it, I doubled the sauce recipe because I wanted some on the side to be able to pour on top if I wanted.

If you try any recipe on my blog, then try this one! My sister’s boyfriend (who puts meat on his meat) went for seconds. That’s definitely saying something.

This recipe can be found on The Garden Grazer Blog.

IMG_0296

Spinach and Black Bean Enchiladas

Ingredients:
*for the sauce*
3 cups vegetable broth
1/4 cup tomato paste
1/4 cup flour
2 tablespoons olive oil
2 teaspoons cumin
1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
1/4 teaspoon onion powder
1/4 teaspoon chili powder

*for the enchiladas*
15 oz. can black beans – rinsed and drained
1 1/2 cups corn (canned or thawed)
1 bag baby spinach – ripped with hands
6 green onions – thinly sliced
1/3 cup cilantro- chopped
3 cups shredded cheese blend
6-8 large flour tortillas

Pre-heat oven to 375.

1. Start by making the sauce- Add the oil, spices, tomato paste, and flour into a saucepan over medium heat. Cook for 1 minute whisking. Add the vegetable broth cup by cup, whisking with each addition. Bring to a boil, then simmer until the sauce thickens. About 8-10 minutes, whisking occasionally.

2. Dump corn, beans, 2 cups cheese, spinach, green onion, and cilantro into a big bowl and mix well.

3. Grab a large baking dish and spray with cooking spray. Then add enough sauce to just coat the bottom of the pan.

4. Take a tortilla and add about 2 large spoonful’s of filling (remember that the spinach is not cooked so it will wilt when baked). Wrap like a burrito – fold over one side, then tuck the ends in and continue folding. Place seam side down on the baking dish. Pour remaining sauce over enchiladas.

5. Add the last cup of cheese to the top and cover with foil

6. Bake in 375 degree oven for about 20 minutes, remove foil, and bake for another 5-10.

COOKING OPTION 2: Wrap enchilada in tin foil, and place on a baking sheet. Bake in the oven at 375 for 20 minutes. Serve with sauce on the side. This option gives you a crispy bottom!

IMG_0288 IMG_0292 IMG_0299

 

 

Leave a Reply

