Baked Vegetable Egg Rolls

I wanted to try something new this week since I’ve stopped working and have some time to experiment in the kitchen! I decided to make egg rolls because my room mate recently bought some and I thought that I could make them easily— and I was right! Making egg rolls at home are SOOO easy and surprisingly really cheap! I probably spent about $5 for all of the ingredients and came out with 8 delicious rolls. I have a bunch of egg roll skins left over and am considering going to buy different stuffing ingredients to make some new ones…maybe I’ll even try some dessert egg rolls too! Either way, this recipe is no fail and you MUST try it!

Vegetable egg rolls

Ingredients:

8 pre bought egg rolls wrappers
4 cups very thinly sliced cabbage (I bought it pre sliced in the bagged salad section of the grocery store)
2 large carrots, peeled and diced
10 button mushrooms, cleaned and diced
1/2 onion, cut into slices
1 clove garlic, diced
1 teaspoon sesame oil
1 tablespoon rice vinegar
4 tablespoons soy sauce

Start by sauteing the cabbage, carrots, mushrooms, onion, and garlic in a pan with a little bit of olive oil. After about 7 minutes, add the sesame oil, rice vinegar, and soy sauce. Mix well and saute for about another 3-5 minutes. Let the mixture cool before adding into the egg roll skins. On the back of the package, it should show you how to roll the egg rolls so make sure you check for that! Fill the wrappers with about 3 tablespoons of filling and then roll them up! Place on a sheet tray and spray with vegetable oil, then bake for about 15 minutes, turning them over 1/2 way through. You can also fry them if you want.

And VOILA! Perfect little egg rolls! I had only planned to taste 1 and then ended up eating 4….oops!

IMG_0902

IMG_0903

IMG_0904

IMG_0905

I’m kind of sad that I have none left– looking at these pictures is making me crave them! It might be kind of good to put cellophane noodles in them as well or maybe some sprouts! That’s the good thing about egg rolls… you can put whatever you want!

Leave a Reply

