Mushroom Stroganoff

I LOVE mushrooms. Unfortunately, the only other person in my family who does also is my mom so we don’t get to eat them very often at home. I don’t even make them that often either because I feel like they are a lot of prep work– cleaning them, slicing them, etc– but it totally paid off in this recipe. When I was grocery shopping this past weekend, I had a super craving for mushrooms so I bought about 2 pounds! I wanted to make a dish where they would stand out so I decided to make stroganoff which was the best decision ever! I found some spinach noodle ribbons at the store too and decided to use those to give it that true “egg noodle dish” feel. I must admit, this recipe is pretty darn good! One of my favorites that I’ve made and probably getting added to the weekly list.

Mushroom Stroganoff

Ingredients:

2 pounds button mushrooms- cleaned and sliced (I took the stems out of mine too)
1/2 small onion- diced
2 garlic cloves- diced
1 teaspoon dried thyme
1 teaspoon dried parsley
1 tablespoon butter – softened
1 tablespoon flour
1 1/2 cups vegetable broth
salt and pepper to taste
pasta- any kind!

Start by sauteing the onion and mushrooms together. Mushrooms can take a while to cook especially if you are putting a bunch in the pan. Mine went for about 20 minutes. The onion started to sweat a lot so I cooked everything a little bit longer to get rid of the moisture. Add the garlic and cook for another 2 minutes. Add the thyme, parsley, salt and pepper, and give it a good stir. Then you are going to add about a cup of broth. In the mean time, combine the butter and flour in a small bowl on the side, until it becomes a paste. Once the broth starts to bubble, stir in the butter and flour mixture in the middle of the pan, making sure that it disintegrates all the way. Then, give the whole pan a stir. The mixture will start to thicken and if it becomes too thick, then add more broth (the other 1/2 cup). Basically, do what you need to do to get to the right consistency. You should be able to move your spoon through the middle and it should stay separated for a couple of seconds.

Make the pasta according to package directions, then mix straight in with the sauce!

Sauteing the mushrooms:

IMG_0856

Adding the broth and rue:

IMG_0857

Final presentation!

IMG_0858

Leave a Reply

