Garlic Tomato Basil Pizza

One of my co-workers is always walking in with home made pizza for lunch and it got me thinking that I should try to make some myself! I didn’t make the dough because she told me that you can buy pizza dough pretty cheap– I spent maybe $2 on the dough. Either way, I decided to make a sauce-less pizza with tomatoes, basil, and a lot of garlic! Instead of using plain ol’ mozarella, I wanted something a little more gourmet so I chose Gruyere which is one of my favorites! Pizza is so quick to assemble and after about 20 total minutes, dinner was served!

Sauce-less Garlic Pizza

Ingredients

1 pound of store bought pizza dough
3 small tomatoes
1 cup shredded cheese
1/4 cup basil cut into strips
1/2 cup spinach cut into strips
garlic oil – (1/3 cup of olive oil warmed with 4 smashed garlic cloves)
1/4 cup caramerlized onions (optional)

Start by rolling out the pizza dough to desired width and size. I like square pizza so I tried to shape mine as much as possible. On your pan, add about 1/2 the garlic oil and spread around so the pizza dough won’t stick in the oven and will crisp up nicely. Put the pizza dough on the prepared pan. Then add a little bit of cheese and layer with tomato, basil, spinach, and onion. I did a couple of layers of cheese in between each of the ingredients just to make sure that they would stick together. I also took the garlic out of the garlic oil and chopped that up to spread on the pizza. I then baked it in the oven for about 15 minutes at 450 degrees and it was good to go!

IMG_0849

Good thing I’m not kissing anyone tonight because that was garlicky goodness!

Leave a Reply

