Curried Broccoli and Cauliflower Lentils

Ever since becoming a vegetarian, I’ve been trying to experiment with different foods and much as possible so that I won’t get bored but I totaly forgot about lentils!!! They are high protein, low fat, high fiber– super food! When I was looking up some lentil recipes, almost all of them used lentils in curry… I like curry… I know how to make it… SO LENTIL CURRY IT IS!

I added potatoes to this recipe too because potatoes soak up curry flavor soooo well! Orignally, I was just going to make broccoli and cauliflower curry so I decided to throw those in as well. What came out of this modge podge of ingredients turned out to be a delicious vegetarian curry dish that I’ve already packed for my lunch tomorrow!

Curried lentils

Ingredients:

1 cup partially cooked lentils
2 medium red potatoes- cut into small pieces
1 small onion- chopped into small pieces
2 garlic cloves- finely chopped
1 small head broccoli- cut into small pieces
1 small head cauliflower- cut into small pieces
1 tablespoon curry powder
1 teaspoon turmeric
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
salt and pepper
5 cups vegetable broth

Start by steaming the cauliflower and broccoli to desired tenderness. Set aside.

IMG_0825

In a large pan, saute the onion and potato in about 3 tablespoons of olive oil for about 15 minutes stirring occasionally. Add the curry powder, turmeric, cinnamon, salt and pepper, and garlic and mix well- sauteing for about another 2 minutes. At this point, add the lentils and stir well to get some of the spices on the lentils. Add enough broth to just cover the mixture and simmer covered for about 5 minutes. The liquid should start to soak into the lentils and potatoes and you’ll need to add more gradually to get the desired consistency in the sauce. I added broth about 2 1/2 times. Once the potatoes and lentils are soft, remove from heat and transfer to a bowl. Let it cool for about 10 minutes and then stir in the broccoli and cauliflower. I added the veggies after because I didn’t want them to over cook, but if you allow for a little liquid to be left over in the potatoes and lentils, then there should be plenty to coat the veggies.

IMG_0826Hmmm.. that kind of looks like mush– but it’s really good!!!!!

IMG_0829

Leave a Reply

