Wine Poached Salmon with Peas and Dill

Another cookbook recipe!

I don’t usually buy salmon for myself because it makes the apartment smell really fishy and it’s also expensive! When I found this recipe in the Salads cookbook that I got for Christmas (same one that had the shitake mushroom recipe), I decided to splurge because it just looked so easy! Plus, it called for peas which I LOVE! It also boiled the salmon instead of broiling it or frying it in a pan which I thought might cut down on the smell (and it did). Not to mention, this recipe is SUPER easy! Of course, I adapted the recipe a bit so that I didn’t have to buy random ingredients for a one time meal. So here it is!

Salmon salad with peas and dill

Ingredients:

1 small piece of salmon- cut into small pieces (I got about 1/2 a pound)
4 thin lemon slices
1/2 white wine
2 cups vegetable broth
salt and pepper
2 cups frozen peas
1/2 cup mayo
1/2 cup plain greek yogurt
pinch of sugar
2 tablespoons dill

Start by making the dill sauce. Combine the mayo, yogurt, salt and pepper, sugar, and dill in a small bowl and mix well to combine. Taste it because you might want to add more dill. Set aside.

In a medium pot, bring wine, broth, lemon slices, and salt and pepper to a boil. Add the salmon and cook for about 3-5 minutes. Remove from liquid. At the same time, boil the peas until unfrozen.

In a bowl, start by adding some peas, then place the salmon pieces on top with a dollop of dill sauce!

IMG_0831

The end. Super easy right? It’s also really super delicious and surprinsingly very filling (I usually eat a lot to get full). This would also be a good summer recipe or lazy night meal.

One thought on “Wine Poached Salmon with Peas and Dill

Leave a Reply

