Shitake Noodles

Continuing on with my cookbook recipes…

For Christmas, my dad gave me a salads cookbook that didn’t just have lettuce and veggies in it, but a whole slew of yummy salads! This one was particularly appealing because I love mushrooms, but have only really experimented with buttom mushrooms because I wasn’t sure how exactly to use shitake mushrooms. This recipe looked soooo easy, I had a ton of ingredients on hand, and who could go wrong with asian! I was pleasantly surprised at the simplicity and was super happy with the taste. I know it will be a good dinner whenever I don’t feel like cooking or a great lunch at work!

The cook book is called “SuperSalad” and it is published by Reader’s Digest. There are a ton of recipes which will take me a while to get to, but I would love to try them all! Once again, I adapted the recipe a little bit but stuck to it for the most part.

IMG_0827

Noodle and mushroom sweet and sour salad

Ingredients:

1 package of pad thai noodles (the recipe called for cellophane noodles which I couldn’t find!)
About 6 shitake mushrooms, cleaned and sliced
2 small carrots- peeled and cut into thin strips
1/2 red bell pepper- cup into thin strips
1 garlic clove- finely chopped
1 teaspoon ginger
3 tablespoons VEGETABLE oil
2 tablespoons soy sauce
2 tablespoons rice vinegar
1 teaspoon sesame oil
2 teaspoons brown sugar
1 tablespoon lime juice
salt and pepper to taste

IMG_0828

Cook the noodles according to the package and set aside. In a pan, add the vegetable oil and saute the mushrooms, carrots, and bell peppers for about 5 minutes. Add the garlic and ginger and stir to combine for about 2 minutes. Stir in the soy sauce, rice vinegar, brown sugar, sesame oil, and lime juice. When I cooked my noodles, I couldn’t get them to be soft, so I dumped them in the veggies and sauce and let it sit for about 2 minutes to soften. However, if your noodles fully cook, then turn the heat off and toss in the pan to combine.

IMG_0830

If you like it spicy, you can add chiles or siracha at the end for an extra kick! I never thought to add lime juice to get the sour taste but it works realy well and I’m excited to dive into this dish later!

Leave a Reply

