Apple and Cabbage Slaw

Once again, it’s been too long since my last post. After sushi night, I had the pleasure of having the flu for a week and a half and then flying back to Colorado and having a hectic week teaching again. Needless to say, cooking has been on the back burner (hardy har har) in my busy life. However, the other day when I was making my weekly shopping list, I decided to do something a little different than writing down the usual. I pulled out some cookbooks and looked through them all to find new recipes that would be easy and delicious (and somewhat cheap). I have a ton of cookbooks and have never used them! I think I’m just attracted to the pictures and then realize that I never use them quite as much as I would like.

I have posted a recipe from this cookbook before: butternut squash from Cook Yourself Sexy by Candice Kumai. This time I chose a different one which seemed appetizing and was relatively cheap.

This recipe is called “Detox apple and cabbage salad”. I modified it quite a bit because I didn’t want to buy 2 different cabbages if I was just making it for myself. I’ll definitely try the full recipe when I’m home next time because it was super delicious!

Candice’s detox apple and cabbage salad (My version)

Ingredients:

Dressing:
2 tablepsoons apple cider vinegar
1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1 cup plain greek yogurt
2 teaspoons honey
1 teaspoon fennel seeds
1/2 teaspoon salt

Salad:
1 head green cabbage
2 fuji apples
1/2 cup roughly chopped walnuts
1/2 cup golden raisins (optional)

Start by making the dressing. Combine all the ingredients and set aside. (I used the fennel seeds because the recipe called for them and while they do mix well with the flavors in the salad, I’m not a big fan of the licorice taste. I will not be using them the next time.)

I HIGHLY recommend investing in a mandolin slicer! I asked for one for Christmas and it came in SUPER handy for this recipe!

IMG_0822

Use a mandoline slicer, or a sharp knife, to thinly slice the cabbage and apples to resemble extremely fine confetti. I definitely went thin and it was a great decision. Any thicker and I think it would be a little too chunky. Add the walnuts, raisins, and dressing, tossing well to combine. Serve chilled!

IMG_0823

This recipe is sooooo good (minus the fennel seeds- I found myself picking them out as I saw them). I think it would be a great side to a summer bbq or even just as a healthy lunch on the go!   I kept it to the side while I continued to cook and soon realized that I had eaten 1/2 the salad…oops!
IMG_0824

Leave a Reply

