Spicy Ginger Garlic Soy Tofu

My week long vegetarian trial has ended, but I really liked it so I think I might try it for 1 more week :P. I had a box of tofu and wanted to make something that was super flavorful but also really easy. I came up with this marinade by pulling all of the asian ingredients out of my cupboards and throwing them together and it actually turned out really well! The funny thing is, yesterday I was looking up recipes and I found the EXACT (or at least close to) one that I used for my baked version. I guess great minds think alike.

The version that I did was marinated and baked. The version that I found was fried and the sauce was added to the pan. Both were SUPER delicious and this will definitely be in the rotation for lunches and dinners.

VERSION 1

Baked Tofu

Ingredients:

1 box firm tofu- pressed for about 30 min or boiled and pressed
2 scallions- chopped
2 garlic cloves – minced
1/2 cup soy sauce
4 tablespoons sesame oil
2 tablespoons rice vinegar
1 teaspoon siracha
1/2 teaspoon fresh ginger- grated
2 tablespoons brown sugar (or 2 packets truvia)

A remark about tofu: For the tofu, either press it to get all the water out, or you can boil the block of tofu for about 30 minutes and then press the water out. Basically, tofu sometimes has a weird flavor because of the water that it is soaked in. If you choose to just press the water out, you might have to do it overnight. However, I learned from Hilda that if you boil the tofu for about 30 minutes, it will usually get rid of the bitter taste that comes with tofu. You can then rest it on a paper towel and press the water out by hand about 10 times and it should be good to go!

After prepping the tofu, cut into thin (ish) slices. I got about 7 pieces. Combine all the marinade ingredients intoΒ a bowl so that all the tofu can lay in a single layer once it is added. Add the tofu and let it marinade for about 30 minutes, flipping after about 15 minutes. Transfer to a pan and bake for about 30 minutes, flipping 1/2 way through at 350 degrees farenheight. You can also add some of the marinade to the tofu while it’s baking and use the rest to reduce as a sauce on the stove. Serve with rice, or with udon noodles and broccoli like I did! YUMMMM

VERSION 2

Fried Tofu with Soy glaze

Ingredients:

Same as above! Plus 2 tablespoons vegetable oil

This time, cut the tofu into smaller bite sized pieces. Combine the sauce ingredients into a small bowl and leave to the side.

In a saute pan, heat the vegetable oil and add the tofu. Fry on one side for about 5 minutes. Once you flip it, add the sauce over the top and watch it thicken on the tofu! It is really delicious and a faster version compared to the baked one. Either way, they are both delicious!

Here is the link to the blog where I saw the fried version if you are interested in her take on it:

http://www.sippitysup.com/sup-loves-cookbooks-herbivoravious

 

One thought on “Spicy Ginger Garlic Soy Tofu

  1. You’re right about pressing, removing the water from firm and extra firm tofu will allow better absorption of flavors and improve the texture. I use the EZ Tofu Press (on amazon) to remove water, take between 5-15 minutes and your ready to go!

Leave a Reply

