Curry Chicken Salad

I remember making this recipe my junior year and asking my friend to try it. She looked at me and said “how do you think to combine this stuff?”… the answer to that question would by my mother. The more I cook, the more I find myself pulling inspiration from foods I grew up on without even realizing it! This recipe has to be one of my favorites. It’s definitely more suited for spring or summer, but I think it still tastes great anytime of year. Plus, I’ve been having an OBSESSION with grapes lately so this just makes sense to me.

Curry chicken salad with grapes

Ingredients

2 chicken breasts
1 cup of grapes- halved
2 stalks of celery- chopped into small pieces
1/4 cup of mayo
salt and pepper
1 teaspoon curry powder
1/2 teaspoon turmeric
pinch of cinnamon

Start by boiling the chicken (You can bake it, but boiling it allows for you to make more of a flavor in the sauce– the chicken also comes out really soft!). Boil some water and then add the chicken and cook for about 15 min. Remove and once it has cooled, cut into small chunks. WARNING: boiled chicken looks totally disgusting, but it’s good. In a smaller bowl, mix together the mayo and spices, tasting often to see if you would prefer more of something over another. I also add about a tablespoon of water at a time to loosen the mixture but that is optional. In a larger bowl, toss the grapes, chicken, and celery together. Then add the mayo mixture. I usually don’t end up adding it all, so be cautious of how much you actually want to add! MIX IT ALL UP AND SERVE!

Sooooooo good! Sometimes I forget about this recipe, but when it comes back into my life I am one happy girl! The combination of grapes and chicken might throw you off, but I promise that they are in fact a match made in heaven— almost like eating turkey with cranberry sauce at thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

