Peanut Butter Soba Noodles

Guilty Pleasure .. and Good Habit

My sophomore year of college, this recipe used to be a STAPLE in my kitchen. It’s fast, easy, and tastes SOOOOO GOOD! I’m a big fan of peanut butter on noodles, but just melting it in the microwave and mixing it with some pasta doesn’t really do the trick for me. I found this recipe on a blog and decided to try it and I was soooo impressed! I was even more pleased to realize that it was a weight watchers recipe! Man oh man, I’m hooked

I made it probably once a week and just kept it in my fridge to put on noodles, chicken, or veggies. Plus, the peanut butter adds an extra kick of protein. I promise you that you will NEVER buy bottled peanut sauce again. You don’t want all those additives anyways.

You can find the original recipe and post here: http://www.grumpyshoneybunch.com/2009/02/sesame-peanut-noodles.html But I changed a bit of it to make it taste more peanut buttery because that’s how I like it!

Peanut Butter Soba Noodles with Broccoli

ingredients:

For the sauce:
1/2 cup of peanut butter (I used reduced fat because I think it tastes better)
1/2 cup of water
2 tablespoons ketchup
2 tablespoons reduced sodium soy sauce
1 tablespoon brown sugar
1 tablespoon rice vinegar
1 1/2 teaspoons of sesame oil

Soba Noodles (you can find these at most grocery stores in the asian section):
Cook as directed on the package and reserve

Broccoli:
Cut into florets and steam

For the sauce, combine all ingredients into a small pot and heat on medium heat until combined. It helps to whisk everything together until you get a smooth consistency. Combine the sauce with the noodles and broccoli. You can also leave everything separate in the fridge and combine as you need it. This recipe tastes really good hot, but really good cold as well!

YUM— I could probably eat this by the spoonfuls, but I won’t

This is exactly what my lunch looks like today and I can’t wait to eat it! Try this recipe!!! You won’t be dissapointed. I would even be tempted to add some sprouts or green onion for garnish.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

