Chicken Curry

Curry has always been one of my favorite dishes. Whether it’s yellow, red, or green, I will almost always order it at a Thai restaurant (as long as it’s not too spicy). I will usually make curry when I am at home because I can make a huge pot of it and it will feed my entire family. I’m not at home, but last night was definitely a craving of the curry kind.

I bought a rotisserie chicken because I was tired of having chicken in my freezer and forgetting about it. A useful tip: Once you get home and the chicken is still warm, take all of the meat off the bone! The meat will literally just fall of the bone but if you put it in the fridge and wait until it is cold, you won’t get off as much as easily. BUT ANYWAYS, I love rotisserie chicken and it is a great thing to have on hand to throw in dishes like these or toss in sandwhiches or on salads. Big fan.

Chicken Curry

Ingredients:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1/2 cup chopped carrots
1/2 red bell pepper- chopped
1/2 green bell pepper- chopped
1/2 onion- chopped
3 garlic cloves- chopped
2 small red potatoes- cut into small pieces (for fast cooking time)
2 cups diced chicken (or chunked)
1-2 cups chicken broth (depending on how much sauce you want)
1 tablespoon curry powder
1 teaspoon turmeric
1/2 teaspoon cumin
1/2 teaspoon coriander
dash of paprika
salt and pepper

Start by putting all of the veggies and potatoes in a pan with olive oil. You want to cook them until the potato is almost done– about 10-15 minutes. Season with salt to help the veggies cook a little bit faster. Then, add all of the seasonings and stir it around. The spices will soak up all of the olive oil and make theΒ  mixture look really dry. Don’t worry though! It’s supposed to happen. Just cook the veggies with the seasoning for about 2 minutes to toast them a little and take out some of the grittyness. Add the chicken broth now. I added about 2 1/2 cups because I like a lot of sauce and the starch from the potatoes will thicken it up a little bit. However, you can add as much as you think you might want. Simmer on high. Finally, after about 8-10 minutes, add the chicken. Simmer the chicken with the veggies for about 5-10 minutes. THE END

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

You can serve with rice or eat as is! I took it to work for my lunch today and it was soooooo goooood!

Leave a Reply

