Grab Bag Trail Mix

Good Habit and EXTREMELY Guilty Pleasure

For christmas one year, I made my entire family trail mix with each person having different ingredients accompanied by a list of the ingredients and their benefits. I think it’s a totally awesome gift, especially if you know exactly what your friends like! They can take it to work and keep it in a drawer, stash it in the car, or just munch on it at home.

I start teaching on MONDAY and while I will be taking my own lunch to school everyday, I find the need to have some extra snacks within reaching distance for that extra boost of energy! I honestly have never been a huge fan of trail mix, but recently I find it almost addicting. I admit that I would only pick out the chocolate bits and eat them, or be meticulous in having 2 pieces of chocolate for every 1/2 peanut, but now I understand the magic behind the combination of ingredients — if only I had known sooner!

I decided that trail mix would be my snack of choice while sitting at my desk. So, I took a trip to the store and made my way to the “help yourself” section and pulled some bins to make a creation that I think is AWESOME!

Trail Mix:

1 1/2 cups raw almonds
2 cups yogurt raisins
2 cups salted peanuts
1 cup dark chocolate covered almonds
1 cup raisins or dried cranberries
(I also bought pretzels to put in, but I ran out of space… oh well)

Layer all of the ingredients in a jar with a lid…. or just mix ’em up!

I also think that this would be really great with some toasted coconut! I was going to try to find some and then somehow forgot.

Pretty sure that this is healthy so I’m proud of my creation. Now the only issue is to keep it out of reach of the students!

-Kris-

One thought on “Grab Bag Trail Mix

Leave a Reply

