Curried Carrot Soup

*drumroll please*

I HAVE A JOB! Yay— “Hello class, my name is Miss. Kris and I will be teaching you (7th graders) pre-algebra” …. not even kidding … and I’m SUUUUPER excited :)! Even though I have a marketing degree and have a passion for cooking and teaching seems to fit NO WHERE in that equation, I’ve always thought it would be fun. So here I am, with a teaching job.

This also means that I need to take my lunch to work everyday, so I spent the majority of the afternoon cooking away! Be prepared for a couple of posts today because I will feel very culinary.

Although this recipe might not be an on-the-go type of meal, it will serve as my lazy dinner tomorrow night probably. Plus, I had a ton of leftover carrots because like broccoli, I seem to think that I want to eat carrots when I clearly don’t.

Curried carrot soup

2 cups baby carrots
1/4 of an onion
2 small garlic cloves
4-5 cups of chicken broth
1/2 teaspoon cumin
1/2 teaspoon coriander
1 tablespoon curry powder
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
salt and pepper

Roughly chop the carrots and onion just so that they will quicker.  Put onion and galic into a pot and saute slightly – about 5 minutes. Add the carrots and cook for another 5 minutes. Then, add all of the spices and stir. You want the spices to kind of cook out a little bit so they aren’t too gritty, but that shouldn’t take too long. Add about 3 cups of chicken broth, just enough to cover the carrots. Simmer the soup for about 45 minutes (or until the carrots are tender), and keep adding more broth as it reduces. Once the carrots are soft, puree the soup using a hand blender or food processor.

This soup has a lot of spicey flavor so you can add some sour cream before serving or even a little cream to tone it down. Either way, I happen to really like this soup and I usually have all of the ingredients in the pantry!

Enjoy!

-Kris-

2 thoughts on “Curried Carrot Soup

Leave a Reply

