Roasted Tomato Basil Soup

Good Habit

I haven’t really ventured into the realm of soups yet, but I’ve made this twice before and both times it was a hit! The first time, I made it for my family one summer night after having eaten very heavily the previous couple of days….we all had seconds. The second time, I made it for my room-mate and if my memory serves me correctly, we ate the entire pot! This soup might start making a rotation in my weekly meals. It’s simple, quick, light and hearty

Fresh Tomato Basil Soup

Ingredients:

5 Roma tomatoes
1/2 medium onion
2 celery stalks
1 cup of carrots
3 garlic cloves
1 6oz can tomato paste
3-4 cups chicken or veggie stock (depending on desired consistency)
1/4 cup chopped basil (roughly)
salt and pepper
olive oil

Pre-heatΒ oven to 375 degrees farenheit. Cut the tomatoes in half-length wise and remove the stems. Rough chop the onion, celery, and carrots and place in a baking dish with the tomatoes. Coat with olive oil, salt, and pepper and mix together. Make sure that the tomatoes are on top (if in a small baking dish), and that they are facing upwards. Roast for about 1 hour.

Heat a little bit of olive oil in a pot and add garlic– cook for about 1-2 minutes. Then, add all of the roasted veggies (including any liquid in the pan). Let the mixture simmer for about 2 minutes because it will bring out more juices from the tomatoes and then add the tomato paste andΒ aboutΒ 3 cups of stock (you can always add more later). Have the soup simmer for again for about 5 minutes and then take it off the heat. Using an immersion hand blender, food processor, or regular blender, blend the soup until it is creamy. This is where you can add more stock if needed. Finally, add the chopped basil and stir until well mixed.

I have to admit that this is definitely one of my new favorite dinners. With a loaf of bread dipped into it and a side salad, it is completely satisfying and totally easy.

Tonight, I accompanied my soup with a side of raw zucchini with lemon and olive oil and a super yummy garlic studded loaf of bread!

I also added a dollop of sour cream last minute

Enjoy!

-Kris-

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Roasted Tomato Basil Soup

  1. This recipe, as stated here exactly, would serve about 2-3 people, depending on how much they ate. Usually I’m just cooking for myself so the portions are small enough for me to have about 2 servings and then some leftover for a later date.

Leave a Reply

